What is the free space erase feature, and how good is it?
Wiping the free space cleans the empty, unused blocks on your disk. It's merely for security reasons. Otherwise, data rescue software can still recover the files. This means that someone could reconstruct all or parts of your deleted files, given the right software.
When you delete a file or a photo, the operating system removes the reference to that data but does not eliminate your memory's actual information. Instead, it just only marked as free so that another file can come and use those blocks.
With the free space erase feature in iShredder™, you can securely wipe the unused disk space so that deleted data cannot be recovered.
There are two more things you should know:
1. Wiping the free space on a disk does not free any space on that disk. All that wiping does is write one big file that expands to fill up all the free disk space, then the software deletes this file when the disk is full.
2. The free space erasure feature has some limitations. It can't wipe every deleted file from your free disk space. There are some limitations because of the way the operating system stores some data. Here are some examples:
- The file has been overwritten by another file (so there is no need to overwrite this again)
- Another file had overwritten the file before you ran iShredder, but the second file has also been deleted.